OVGA Good Design Publications

Copyright Gollings Photography, BHP Billiton Platypusary, Healesville, Cassandra Complex

The Office of the Victorian Government Architect promotes an awareness of the importance of good design including the process of making great places and sustainable urban environments.

Read more: OVGA Good Design Publications

Frankston Station Design Competition Jury

The Jury for the Frankston Station Design Competition has been drawn from the architectural profession, state and local government to judge both Stage 1 and 2 entries.


Jill Garner

Chair and Victorian Government Architect

Victorian Government Architect since 2015; Associate Government Architect (2011-15); Director and co-founder of multiple award-winning practice, Garner Davis Architects; one of the early graduates of the innovative practice-based Masters by Design at RMIT; has taught at both RMIT and the University of Melbourne in design, contemporary history and architectural theory; has lectured and written extensively on contemporary architecture and urban design, and is highly respected by her architectural peers around Australia.


Peter Elliott AM

Architect, Adjunct Professor

Director of Peter Elliott Architects, an award winning architecture and urban design practice based in Melbourne; Senior Research Fellow and Adjunct Professor at the Faculty of Art Design & Architecture at Monash University; awarded a Doctor of Architecture honoris causa by University of Melbourne in 2015; recognised as leader in the design of the public realm; has lectured and written extensively on contemporary architecture and urban design; and published "Episodic Urbanism – RMIT Urban Spaces Project 1996 – 2015".


Felicity Stewart

Urban Designer

Co-founder and director of Stewart Hollenstein, a multi-disciplinary design practice established in Sydney in 2010. Stewart Hollenstein were winners of the City of Sydney Green Square Library & Plaza Competition in 2012 (now under construction). Graduated from Masters of Urban Design at Columbia University, New York in 2012, receiving the Graduation Prize for
Design Excellence. Recipient of the NSW Board of Architects Medallion 2010. Graduated with First Class Honours and University Medal for Architecture from University of New South Wales in 2009.


Paul Edbrooke

State Member for Frankston

State Member since 2014, following a 14 year career as a Firefighter at Frankston Fire Station and has received commendations and medals for services to his community. Has been a tireless campaigner for the Frankston area, successfully lobbying for $63 million to redevelop Young St and Frankston Station Precinct. Completed a Bachelor of Education in Primary and Secondary teaching and a Bachelor of Arts majoring in History/ Politics and Sociology before commencing teaching in local Primary schools and Special Developmental Schools.


Dennis Hovenden

CEO Frankston City Council

Chief Executive Officer of Frankston City Council since 2012. Previously CEO at Swan Hill Rural City Council for over five-and-a-half years. Tertiary qualifications in Political Science, Legal Studies and Public Sector Management and more than 30 years' experience in local government in Victoria, New South Wales and South Australia. Represents the Local Government Professional Sector as a member of the Victorian LGPRO Board, a member of the National Local Government Professionals Australia Board and as the International Vice President on the ICMA Board.


Geoff Oulton

Director Integration, Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources

Director of Integration within the Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport & Resources (DEDJTR) after over 20 years senior executive experience in Local and State Government across a broad range of operational, policy and project development roles, including responsibility for land use, planning, major projects, transportation, urban renewal and
cultural development. Graduate of Masters of Business Administration, Masters of Engineering (Traffic and Transport), Bachelor in Civil Engineering (Honours), and a Diploma of Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Should there be a tied vote at any time during the judging process, the Chair will have an additional casting vote to arrive at a final decision.

receive news and updates