Shepparton Art Museum - competition winner announced


The winner of the architectural competition for the $34.5 million new Shepparton Art Museum (SAM) was announced on 20th April 2017 as Denton Corker Marshall.

The design competition received 88 entries and 5 architectural practices were shortlisted, which included Kerstin Thompson Architects, John Wardle Architects, Lyons Architecture and MvS Architects. The designers were assessed against their design approach, capacity and experience.

The DCM proposal was unanimously selected by a seven-member jury, with the OVGA represented on the jury, by architect David Islip, Principal Adviser Urban + Architecture.

The jury stated that “The Denton Corker Marshall proposal stood out because it combined a powerful and relevant conceptual idea –well-resolved and compelling in its structural expression and detail –with a highly adaptable, functional, safe and efficient solution,”

Architectural media coverage can be seen on Architecture AU here External link. The announcement by SAM can be viewed here External link.

receive news and updates